The story of how I saved money, quit my job, sold my possessions, and set off to endlessly travel by bike around the world. My Plan

My 3 Books
I write, self publish and sell books about touring

HOME
Videos
Picture Gallery
Journals
Travel Plan

Finances
Shopping
Equipment
My Books
About Me
Media/Press Room

Contact

Photo Use Info

Subscribe to Newsletter
Read Sample
Continue My Travels


Places I have been
(
How can I afford this?)

India and Neighbors
May 2010 to present

Alaska / Canada / USA
May 2008 to April 2010

New Zealand
Sept 2007 to May 2008

Australia
Sept 2006 to Sept 2007

SE Asia / China
Nov 2004 to Sept 2006

South America
June 2003 to June 2004

AZ, Mexico, and Central America
March 2002 to April 2003

How I started
The 5 years before I left


Sign up for my RoadNews Newsletter

 Written on the road as I travel around the world on my bicycle


*Help Support this Web Site and Continue My Travels.


Equipment Pages Index

Introduction
How Much to Bring and Weight
Some Advice About Advice
A Note to Perspective Sponsors and Gear Suppliers
(See more about Sponsorship)

START HERE for Touring Bikes and Commuting Bicycles
Custom Touring Bicycles and Bike Upgrade Buyers Guide
Bicycle Touring Frames 
The Steel Repair Myth.
Steel and Aluminum Derailleur Hanger Repair.
Bicycle Touring Wheels
Phil Wood: The Best Bicycle Hubs

Panniers / Bike Bags
Cargo Trailers Vs Panniers
Tires for Bike Tours..
Bicycle Touring Saddles.
Women's Specific Bike Touring Saddles
Brooks Leather Touring Bicycle Saddle Care and Conditioning
Bike Computer
Touring Handlebars, Bar Ends, Adjustable Stems, and Padded Grips.
Kickstands
Sealed Cartridge Headsets

How to prevent flat tires
Bike Route Trails and Maps

Camping
Buying Camping Equipment
Tent and Ground Cloth
Sleeping Bag
Sleeping Pad
Camp Stove
Pots and Pans
Water Filter
First Aide Kits
Solar Power for Camp

Clothing
Bike Touring Shorts

Electrical
Short-wave Radio
Computer
Internet
mp3
Bicycle touring lights

Books
Packing list
Pictures of Equipment Failures
Shopping


See My Videos Here



(see all 3 book)

Customer Reviews for Our Book: The Road That Has No End: How we traded our ordinary lives for a global bicycle touring adventure

 

Reba J. Hoffman (Florida USA) January 21, 2006

The greatest book I've ever read!

Tim and Cindie paint an inspiring portrait of adventure, compassion and hardship that captures the pioneer spirit. I have now traveled throughout Central America, albeit vicariously through their bicycling adventure. It is a compelling drama that touches the very core of the human need to explore unseen lands. Marvelously written! Captivating!

This is a must read for cyclotourists and book enthusiasts of all genres.


Charles DiBella (Big Island, Hawaii)  May 29, 2005

A great read worth experiencing,

See all my reviews Tim Travis's book is an exceptional read. You'll be able to travel along with Tim and his wife Cindy down fabulous roads seldom explored and learn the ins and outs of how to get around in a world sometimes friendly, sometimes hostile. You receive tips not found in bestseller tour guides, and you'll find out where to go and where not. You'll learn to save money on everything from hotel rooms to local food on the street, and you'll get the feel of what it's like to travel in the rough, on a narrow budget, along with high tech tools, combining the internet, laptop, and digital photography. Tim and Cindy have a detailed website you won't want to miss, chock full of even more tips, tricks, links, and photographs. They continue to make regular entries to journals, keeping you posted on where they are, and answering questions from a huge international audience. This is an 8 year trip around the world, and this book is the first of a long and exciting series. If you're planning to tour professionally anywhere, alone or with a friend, need the motivation to start, or just want to dream about high adventure, this is the book for you. You'll not only have the time of your life, but you'll make yourself two great new friends with Tim and Cindie. Packed with photographs, this book is a best buy!


Bob Spear  Heartland Reviews  May 11, 2005 www.heartlandreviews.com

sell everything you I own and travel

Imagine you and your spouse have decided to sell everything you own to buy a couple of touring bikes and everything you will need to peddle down the road and around the world. That is what this author and his wife did after seven years of planning and preparation. This volume is about the first leg of their journey: from Arizona through the length of Mexico and on through Central America. They intend to travel on through South America, Africa, Europe, and Asia. It is a heartwarming and terrifying tale he tells. The most important aspects is how he developed street smarts and how people keep surprising him with their goodness. We rated this book a high three hearts.


P. Anderson May 1, 2005

A super fast and easy read.

This book is a great read for anyone considering a tour in Latin America. The book goes a long way toward dispelling many myths about Latin America. Tim and Cindie went into Mexico on bicycles with little to no ability to speak Spanish and yet got along with the people there very well. The portion of their trip depicted in this book was a very positive cultural exchange. The book really gives the reader the feeling of "I can do this." In support of their book and travels the author maintains an interesting web site and is very accessable to readers that have questions. If you read the book you will find yourself daydreaming about "your" adventure and anxiously waiting for Tim and Cindie's next book.


Reviewer: Midwest Book Review (Oregon, WI USA), January 8, 2005

A travelogue of two people who dared to live their dream.

The Road That Has No End is an amazing travelogue of two people who dared to live their dream, setting aside their ordinary lives to embark on a worldwide cycling adventure. Learning to live frugally on the road while maintaining an internet journal, they observed a religious pilgrimage in Mexico, ancient Aztec and Mayan ruins, the cloud forests of Costa Rica, survived the attack of a pesticide-spraying airplane in Guatemala and much more. Over 150 black-and-white photographs illustrate this enchanting journey past cultural differences, environmental hardship. Both travelers had to learn how to bribe border guards and avoid thieves, yet the majority of their experience with various cultures exposed misconceptions concerning daily life and motivations south of America's borders. A journey that was neither as dangerous as some fear mongers would claim nor as safe as the overly idealistic would lead one to believe, The Road That Has No End is a unique personal testimony especially recommended for armchair travelers or anyone considering an extended international bicycle tour of their own.

Page #1 Page #2 Page #3 Page #4 Page #5

 

 

 

Bicycle Touring
Tips & Advice

- Bike Stuff
- Camping

Touring Bicycles
Panniers
Racks
Saddles
Tires
Lights

Fenders
Tools and Spares

Tents
Sleeping Bags
Camping Mattress
Camp Stove
Water Filter
Pots and Pans
First Aide Kits
Solar Power
Bike Maps
Preventing Flat Tires

Bike Computer
Cargo Trailers
Kick Stands
Pedals
Handelbars/Grips
Headsets
Commuting Bikes

Camp Shower/Toiletry Bag

Lights

Helmet
Bike Shoes
Bike Touring Shorts

Stealth/Free Camp

What I Have Learned On The Road

Dreaming of Endless Travel

Injustice of Poverty

Much MORE Gear Here!

Sponsors (how?)


Cycle Touring Racks

Tents and ground cloths
Sleeping Bags
Camping Mattress Pads


Email Newsletter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2002 - 2020 DownTheRoad.org (TM) All Rights Reserved

Find out how you can use my pictures on your web site legally and free of charge.