The story of how I saved money, quit my job, sold my possessions, and set off to endlessly travel by bike around the world. My Plan

My 3 Books
I write, self publish and sell books about touring

HOME
Where am I?
Videos
Picture Gallery
Journals
Travel Plan

Finances
Shopping
Equipment
My Books
About Me
Media/Press Room

Contact

Photo Use Info

Subscribe to Newsletter
Read Sample
Continue My Travels


Places I have been
(
How can I afford this?)

India and Neighbors
May 2010 to present

Alaska / Canada / USA
May 2008 to April 2010

New Zealand
Sept 2007 to May 2008

Australia
Sept 2006 to Sept 2007

SE Asia / China
Nov 2004 to Sept 2006

South America
June 2003 to June 2004

AZ, Mexico, and Central America
March 2002 to April 2003

How I started
The 5 years before I left


Sign up for my RoadNews Newsletter

 Written on the road as I travel around the world on my bicycle


*Help Support this Web Site and Continue My Travels.


Equipment Pages Index

Introduction
How Much to Bring and Weight
Some Advice About Advice
A Note to Perspective Sponsors and Gear Suppliers
(See more about Sponsorship)

START HERE for Touring Bikes and Commuting Bicycles
Custom Touring Bicycles and Bike Upgrade Buyers Guide
Bicycle Touring Frames 
The Steel Repair Myth.
Steel and Aluminum Derailleur Hanger Repair.
Bicycle Touring Wheels
Phil Wood: The Best Bicycle Hubs

Panniers / Bike Bags
Cargo Trailers Vs Panniers
Tires for Bike Tours..
Bicycle Touring Saddles.
Women's Specific Bike Touring Saddles
Brooks Leather Touring Bicycle Saddle Care and Conditioning
Bike Computer
Touring Handlebars, Bar Ends, Adjustable Stems, and Padded Grips.
Kickstands
Sealed Cartridge Headsets

How to prevent flat tires
Bike Route Trails and Maps

Camping
Buying Camping Equipment
Tent and Ground Cloth
Sleeping Bag
Sleeping Pad
Camp Stove
Pots and Pans
Water Filter
First Aide Kits
Solar Power for Camp

Clothing
Bike Touring Shorts

Electrical
Short-wave Radio
Computer
Internet
mp3
Bicycle touring lights

Books
Packing list
Pictures of Equipment Failures
Shopping


See My Videos Here



(see all 3 book)

Customer Reviews for Our Book: The Road That Has No End: How we traded our ordinary lives for a global bicycle touring adventure

 

Alan N. Wechsler "chocolate invectives" (new york) August 10, 2007

Inspiring reading for any (armchair) adventurer traveler

The Travises are living the dream -- they've found a way to support themselves by writing while spending up to 20 years traveling the world on bikes. Travis, though not a writer by trade, has found his voice early on and spins a yarn that captures the heart. The fact that this couple is still riding, and will be writing about their adventures for years to come, makes the book even more enjoyable -- as you read, you know they're still out there. Anybody looking for inspiration, or a reason to get off their couch and go out somewhere in search of adventure, should read this book.


Don E. Maceachern "Happy Listener" (Charlottetown P.E.I. Canada) August 10, 2007

Fun Reading

If you like to read stories about travel on a bike then this is the book for you.I found it exciting and informative.It was like a diary between some friends and that included me.I feel the book has two purposes.The first is to finance their continuing travel and the second to to inform.You receive images from off the main routes and interact with the locals.It is a must read.


Aristeidis Vagourdis (Athens, Greece) August 9, 2007

Best Travelogue!

Probably the best travelogue I have ever read! I am into several sports (diving, motorbikes, sailing) and travelogues is my favorite pastime read (both on-line and in print). Tim Travis' book is enjoyable and captivating! It is very realistically written and with a high level of sincerity with regard to their experience and personal emotions. The introductory part (before departure) is, also, adding much to the book. The risks associated with abandoning successful careers and lives is probably the reason not everyone is out there chasing secret dreams. Their path towards the decision, the preparation and the departure is very originally written and actually gives the best insight of the personalities that the reader will travel with for the rest of the book(s). One singe point of criticism: I understand that the book is not a travel guide but I think that colour pictures would be a great enhancement to the book. Looking forword to their second book!


A. Ihnen (Saint Louis) August 9, 2007

A great book about real people on an amazing journey

Tim and Cindy Travis are two (somewhat) ordinary people who have managed to ride their bicycles through, around and over several continents. These aren't Navy Seals or NY Times travel writers. To me, this is what makes their travel and this book so special. I follow their travels on the website www.downtheroad.org and found the book to be a great supplement to their updates and videos. Buy the book - enjoy the story and support adventure!


P. A. Power (UK) 13 May 2007

Excellent, excellent, excellent

Tim and his wife Cindie left their home in the US in 2002 to cycle around the world and this book is their first journal recording their life on the road. Unlike other cycle touring books, this book really does tell it as it really is, warts and all. Inspirational and informative, it's a real page turner packed full of over 150 photographs taken on their journey. Tim and Cindie are still on the road on their bicycles and are at the time of writing this review, they are exploring Australia. An amazing story of two people who've swapped the dreary nine-to-five routine for a life of adventure and exploration. I've read this from cover to cover and as the other reviewer said, my only complaint with this book is I'm still waiting for the next edition! You can catch up with their latest news on their website www.downtheroad.org

Page #1 Page #2 Page #3 Page #4 Page #5

 

 

 

Bicycle Touring
Tips & Advice

- Bike Stuff
- Camping

Touring Bicycles
Panniers
Racks
Saddles
Tires
Lights

Fenders
Tools and Spares

Tents
Sleeping Bags
Camping Mattress
Camp Stove
Water Filter
Pots and Pans
First Aide Kits
Solar Power
Bike Maps
Preventing Flat Tires

Bike Computer
Cargo Trailers
Kick Stands
Pedals
Handelbars/Grips
Headsets
Commuting Bikes

Camp Shower/Toiletry Bag

Lights

Helmet
Bike Shoes
Bike Touring Shorts

Stealth/Free Camp

What I Have Learned On The Road

Dreaming of Endless Travel

Injustice of Poverty

Much MORE Gear Here!

Sponsors (how?)


Cycle Touring Racks

Tents and ground cloths
Sleeping Bags
Camping Mattress Pads


Blog RSS 
Email Newsletter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2002 - 2012 DownTheRoad.org (TM) All Rights Reserved

Find out how you can use my pictures on your web site legally and free of charge.